Bendiksen wins Grand Prix #2 on home soil

Bendiksen wins Grand Prix #2 on home soil

Aly Andersen - Vikings Athletics

CAMROSE, AB – Two weeks after the season-opening run, ACAC Cross-Country Running teams hit the trail once again at the Stoney Creek Centre in Camrose for the second race of The Running Room Grand Prix, hosted by The University of Alberta, Augustana.

The trail took runners through 2km and 4km loops within Stoney Creek Park, with the Women running 6km, one 2km loop, and one 4km loop, while the men ran two 4km loops for a total of 8km.

Red Deer Polytechnic (RDP) Kings and Queens took home the Augustana combined team title for the third year in a row, followed closely by the Concordia Thunder in second and the Augustana Vikings in third place.

Viking Reese Bendiksen skillfully navigated her way through on home turf, completing both trail loops in 24:39 to win the women's race nearly a full minute ahead of the competition. Meanwhile, the Thunder's Leonard Chesoo completed both his 4km loops in an impressive time of 26:02 to claim first place once again after winning the first Grand Prix (North) in 28:37.

Rounding out the rest of the women's top three was Queen, Jenica Swartz (25:36) and St. Mary's Lightning runner Maria Fox (25:53).

The Thunder saw two of their runners land in the top three for the men, with Brandon Toal (28:01) crossing the line in third place and SAIT Trojan, Yahye Jama (27:37) splitting the Thunder to come in second.

Looking ahead, teams will head to Calgary on October 16th for the third and final Running Room Grand Prix, hosted by St. Mary's Lightning, who will also welcome the Canadian Collegiate Athletic Association (CCAA) best's runners for nationals on November 12-13th, 2021.


Vikings Women's Results

1stReese Bendiksen (24:39)

6thCaitlin Debree (27:17)

12thMakayla Sheppard (28:27)

13thChloe Funnell (28:38)

18th - Serena Isley (29:11)

24thChelsea Cook (31:18)

27thMia Spreen (34:00)


Vikings Men's Results

12thNathanael Tabert (31:02)

17th - Ben Nawrot (32:43)

21stSamuel Nawrot (33:28)

31stJonas Stoll-Pott (34:53)

45thEwan Schellenberg (37:49)

57thDominic Schellenberg (42:53)